Mustard Chicken Milanese and “Working Clean”

I’ve had my nose stuck in two books in the past few days, the “Smitten Kitchen Cookbook” and “Kitchen Confidential” by Anthony Bourdain. When it comes to cooking anything breaded, I usually end up with a ton of dirty plates. I’ve never been good at cleaning as I go, but it’s necessary. Always keep paper towels handy, have your area organized before you start, and you’ll never get stressed. Well, almost. Thanks, Tony!

Image
So my pictures aren’t gorgeous this time. I just finally replaced the lightbulbs in my kitchen and they were brighter than i expected, giving every one of my pictures a funky fluorescent glow. The food, however, was extremely delicious. I’d forgotten how much I love mustard.

Image
I started by slicing a chicken breast in half lengthwise (butterflying but cutting all the way through) and pounding the pieces thin between sheets of plastic wrap. Do this, and don’t use the “tenderizer” side of your meat pounder and you shouldn’t have chicken bits flying all over.

Image
You’ll need two plates and a wide bowl. The two plates are just flour and panko breadcrumbs. The bowl is where the magic happens. Whisk up one egg white, a hefty squeeze of both smooth and coarse dijon mustard, a pinch of salt and pepper, and some lemon zest. To assemble, simply dredge in the flour, dip in the egg mixture, and coat with breadcrumbs. Deb recommends letting the chicken sit in the fridge for an hour to help the coating set, but I was way too hungry for that and I didn’t run into problems with the breading sliding off. Finally, throw them in a hot pan of olive oil and cook until done and browned.

Here’s where the cooking clean comes in! Besides having all of your ingredients ready to go at the beginning, rinse and dry your plates as soon as you get the chicken in the pan so you can use them to gobble down this delicious meal.

Image 
The salad is way too easy and really good! In a large bowl, mix the juice of one lemon, a couple squeezes of smooth and coarse dijon mustard. Slowly whisk in a couple tablespoons of olive oil, more or less depending on how tart you like your vinaigrette. Throw in a pile of green goodness, slice up how ever much fennel strikes your fancy, and toss.

Image
Crispy, amazing, mustardy goodness. Le Boyfriend couldn’t get enough and told me I could cook this kind of chicken any time I want. Pile on the salad and eat!

I’m finally feeling the food happiness again, so you’ll definitely see more deliciousness on here. Also, stone fruits are back!

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

