#MonthOfSmoothies Weeks 3 & 4

Smoothie awesomeness and my challenge for March. Excitement!

20140306-185729.jpg

This one was supposed to taste like a creamsicle. It was…acidic? Probably just needed some tweaking. Cup of orange juice, half cup of vanilla Greek yogurt, cup of ice. It was meant to give my body some Vitamin C love!

20140306-185935.jpg

And this one was supposed to taste like a cinnamon bun! It didn’t, but it was way more successful than my creamsicle attempt. Cup of vanilla almond milk, a scoop of whey protein, one banana, cinnamon, and as much ice as you need to get it frozen and yummy.

20140306-190353.jpg

This was my super lazy day. I went to Starbucks and got my chocolate smoothie that I crave every day. It’s not actually on the menu anymore, but they’ll still make it for you.

20140306-190542.jpg

NUTELLA. I don’t need to say more, but I will because I love you. Tablespoon of Nutella (or more depending on how naughty you’re feeling), one banana, a cup of vanilla almond milk or regular milk, and a handful of ice.

I skipped a smoothie! All I wanted on that particular Friday was to go to Dunkin’ Donuts and stuff my face with some carbs. The smoothies for week four were so good that I let myself off the hook.

I also found a challenge for March! I wanted to do something fitness related to make up for the fact that I cannot seem to get my butt to a gym. So I’m doing this monster:

20140306-193343.jpg

Doesn’t it look fun? My sore everything says otherwise.

20140306-190949.jpg

I can’t believe that mangos didn’t make an appearance until now. Oh wait, yes I can, I live in the northeast where it’s freaking cold and mangos are never in season. Half of a fresh mango, a heaping half cup of vanilla Greek yogurt, a cup of ice, and a drizzle of honey.

20140306-191420.jpg

This one tastes a lot like the cherry smoothie Panera had for a while. In other words, uh-mazing. Handful of frozen cherries, a couple heaping tablespoons of vanilla Greek yogurt, a little bit of vanilla extract if you’re feeling that, a cup of ice, and enough milk to get things smooth and happy.

Quick rant. One of my favorite things at Panera is GONE. I loved the BBQ chicken salad so much, and they took it away.

Curse you, Panera!

20140306-191908.jpg

This one almost ended up being a rerun, but I decided to try something new. Handful of frozen blueberries, one banana, a couple heaping tablespoons of vanilla Greek yogurt, some milk, a drizzle of honey, and a sprinkle of ground flax seed.

Two more to go!

20140306-192243.jpg

I call this masterpiece the banana neopolitan. Holy smokes it was good. One banana, a few frozen strawberries, a tablespoon or more of cocoa powder, a scoop of vanilla whey protein, a cup of ice, and enough milk to keep everything loose. This was smoothie perfection. Chocolate with a kiss of strawberry, all amped up by vanilla.

20140306-192752.jpg

Wowza, it’s the last smoothie! A few frozen strawberries, one banana, your leftover half of mango or frozen chunks, a couple heaping tablespoons of vanilla Greek yogurt, handful of ice, and probably a cup of milk.

PHEW. I discovered that smoothies don’t have to be a pain in the butt and that they are scrumptious.

And that is it! Stay tuned for more saliva inducing delights and follow my Instagram (sarahrogers09) for the yummies on a pretty much daily basis.

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

