#MonthOfSmoothies Week One

Can I just say that I am loving this smoothie thing? I throw goodies in my blender, I drink it, and go. I don’t end up with any dirty dishes because it’s so easy to rinse out my blender and glass and call it a day. I don’t end up left with sticky cereal bowls or funky egg plates, not that I don’t love my scrambled eggs. Plus, I’m finding it a lot easier to get the good stuff that my body needs. I’ve had a lot of carb-filled breakfasts that were delicious but never left me satisfied.

Here’s what I have been drinking!

20140210-091658.jpg

I started with a really odd-looking smoothie that tasted like a peanut butter milkshake. One frozen and sliced banana, a half cup of vanilla Greek yogurt, a cup of (vanilla was good but I might try plain next time) almond milk, a tablespoon of peanut butter, and as much fresh spinach as I could fit in my blender. You can’t taste the spinach one bit.

20140210-092141.jpg

Day two was a little less random, but an oddball for me. This is the first time I’ve ever put an apple in a smoothie. Next time, I will add honey and it’ll be perfect. One red apple, chopped up in whatever way will make your blender happy, half a cup of vanilla Greek yogurt, a cup of milk (I used 2% but I bet almond milk would have been yummy…), five almonds, and some cinnamon. It tasted like apple pie, or at least some kind of apple dessert. I took it a step further by throwing some flax seed!

20140210-092720.jpg

My third smoothie was definitely the most delicious, but also the least nutritionally balanced. Wah wahhhhh. It would work if I were doing a ton of weight training, but my current activity level doesn’t require so much protein. Add about five frozen strawberries, a cup of milk, maybe a third of a cup of vanilla Greek yogurt, a drizzle of honey, and, if you need the protein punch, half of a scoop of vanilla whey protein powder. It made the texture delightful, but it’s one that needs some tinkering. On the plus side, I wasn’t hungry again for several hours.

20140210-093248.jpg

I didn’t make a new smoothie creation on Thursday because I really wanted Jerad to try what I’m calling “Strawberries and Cream”, but day five was…out there. I bought some avocados and really wanted to put some in a smoothie and ended up with this guy. Half a cup of blueberries, a quarter of an avocado, a whole bunch of baby spinach, a quick drizzle of honey, and two cups or so of water. It basically had the same effect as the time I tried and failed to make a green smoothie that invoked basil. It needed a little something to make it sweeter without adding more honey. Next time I’ll replace half of the liquid with juice.

I really needed to eat something with this smoothie because the calorie content was so low, only about 200. I went to work and got to about 2:00 and passed out in the middle of ringing up a customer. I spent a couple of hours in the ER to have them tell me there’s nothing wrong with me. But, please, if you do smoothies for breakfast or as a meal in general, try to make sure they are at least 350 good calories.

Don’t be dumb like me.

As soon as that was over I went and stuffed my face with delicious German food. It made everything better.

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

