Biscuits and Sausage Gravy

20131228-163722.jpg

Never done a post from my iPhone with multiple pictures before so we shall see how ugly this turns out. It processes my photos as a bunch of code that I totally don’t understand, but it’ll make the rest of my trip back to Boston go by a little faster! I hope.

Something I’ve talked about recently on here is my need for good southern cooking. Usually, I head back to South Carolina every 3-4 months and I get my (butter) fix. We are now going on six months here and I’m starting to lose it. For the last month or so, I’ve been looking for the easy-peasy biscuits and gravy I remember eating as a kid. Everything I found was so complicated! Then, I found the Pioneer Woman’s post for drop biscuits and sausage gravy. Five ingredients or less for each component? Yes, please!

20131228-164741.jpg

For the biscuits, preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Mix up 3 cups of flour, 2 tablespoons of baking powder, and a hefty pinch of salt. Cut in a stick and a half of butter, and then gradually add 1-1/2 cups of buttermilk. You want a dough that isn’t too wet, but sticks to your fingers.

20131228-165429.jpg

Spoon blobs of dough onto a cookie sheet and bake until they start to turn good and pretty, about 15-20 minutes depending on how powerful your oven
is.

20131228-165752.jpg

The sausage gravy is even easier than the biscuits. Brown up some breakfast sausage, toss it with a couple tablespoons of flour, then add enough milk to cover it up. Stir occasionally until the magic happens and it becomes thick and gooey. Season with lots of black pepper!

20131228-170328.jpg

If I’d had my way, I would have used spicy sausage. I like it for the zing.

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

