Fig, Apple, and Sage Pork Tenderloin

Image
To all of you, my lovely readers, I’m sorry that I’ve put off posting for almost a week.  Every time I would get started on something I would think, “Wow…I am so boring, forget this.”  I was also swept up in the fact that I’m supposedly getting promoted to something really cool at work.  I’ll announce what that’s all about when it’s official.  While I haven’t been posting as much as I would like, I’ve still been cooking up a storm.  Plenty of deliciousness is coming your way!

I don’t cook pork tenderloin often because it has a tendency to dry out and get chewy, an issue that comes with cooking lean cuts of meat.  For now, I’ll get to this amazing meal, but stay tuned for some tips for achieving a perfectly moist tenderloin every time.

Image
First of all, when you buy this cut, make sure you find one that is an evenly shaped as possibly.  If you find one that is thin at one end and thick at the other, it’s going to be overcooked on one side and undercooked on the other.  Not tasty.

Let’s ignore how phallic that looks.  The other picture was worse.  You would have been clutching your pearls, clutching them hard.

The tying is really easy.  I used a video on youtube!  Not only does it look all fancy, but it helps the meat cook evenly.

Image
Tuck some leaves of sage under the twine and season the whole thing with salt and pepper.

Image
This step is optional, but the pig gods were telling me that I should encase all this goodness in saran wrap until I was ready to sear it into golden bliss.  It’s also a good idea if you didn’t already bring it up to room temperature like I did.

At this point, preheat your oven to 425 degrees.

Image
Chop up an apple, a shallot, and some figs.  I used the dried figs from Trader Joe’s.  They’re like gourmet raisins.  Yum!

Image
At this point, I totally spaced out on you guys.  Start by browning your pork tenderloin on all sides.  Remove it from the pan (I used my trusty cast iron skillet) and add the shallot, apple, and figs.  Get a little color going, then push all those goodies towards the center of the pan and perch the pork on top.  Put the whole thing in the oven until the internal temperature reaches at least 145 degrees, about 15 minutes.

I know this sounds low but this is actually the approved temperature for pork!  Plus, it should raise a few degrees while it’s resting for ten minutes.

Image

Image
The inside should be slightly pink, but not bloody.  I served up mine with a slice of fig jam-smothered toast.

Enjoy!

 

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

