Apple and Cheddar Scones

Image
I would like to start by thanking Smitten Kitchen for this recipe.  Everything about it is perfect.

I didn’t realize how much I enjoy scones until this past year.  I especially got hooked on them when I started making my own, not because I think I’m a magical and superior baking goddess, but because scones are best the day they are baked.  The last few times I baked them, I planned my day so I could have scones for at least two meals of the day, if not all three.  These scones are slightly crisp on the outside, tender on the inside, and are so perfect for a fall day that you might as well plop down on the couch with a warm cup of tea and call it a day.

Have I mentioned that I love fall?

Image
Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.  Chop up two tart apples (I used Granny Smiths) and spread them out on a parchment-lined baking sheet.  Bake the chopped apples until they’re slightly cooked and dry to the touch, 15-20 minutes.

Your kitchen will smell amazing.

Let them cool, chop them up even smaller, and throw them into your big mixing bowl.

Image
In another bowl, mix your flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  Someday, I’ll get a sifter.  But, for now, I’ll just whisk away.

Image
Back in your big bowl, add the cheddar, cold butter, cream, and egg.  Cream does magical things to the texture of scones.

Add your dry ingredients.  I started by mixing with a spoon so my hands wouldn’t melt the butter, and finished with my hands when the spoon just wasn’t cutting it anymore.

Image
Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and shape it into a thick disk.  It’s going to feel weird, but try to contain the apple chunks.  Cut it into six wedges.

Finally, brush with a beaten egg, sprinkle with sugar, and bake for about 30 minutes until golden and beautiful.

Image
We ate all of them, throughout the day, of course.

Image
I’m planning some crazy scone experiments.  Get ready.

Enjoy!

 

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apple and Cheddar Scones

  1. They sound delicious…and I have lots of apples at the moment.

Leave a Reply

