Red Velvet Crinkle Cookies

Image
I tried to post these a few days ago, but WordPress just wasn’t having it.  I had to angrily shake my fists at my computer to make the magic happen.  Kidding, I had to switch browsers.  Even then, it threatened to give out on me.

It’s been a long week.

Image
When I made these, it was fairly late and I forgot that when you make crinkle cookies, you have to let the dough firm up a bit before handling it.  I probably would have made more cookies if Jerad and I hadn’t spent that hour or so taking spoonfuls of the stuff and shoving it into our greedy mouths.

Image
Look how pretty it is.

Image
Then you get to roll it in powdered sugar.  Yum.

Here’s how my week has gone: I baked these babies and apple-cheddar scones that were incredible.  I worked extra hours at my retail job because there are a bunch of new seasonal people running around who have no idea what the heck they’re doing, plus I needed the hours.  Finally, after my bruises from pushing around racks of clothing all day had finally healed, I fell up the escalator.  Yes, I fell up it.  The escalator wasn’t even moving.  The space between those spiny monster stairs is the exact distance between my ankle and my knee.  While I managed to save my chai latte, my leg is now scraped and bruised.  Again.

To top it off, one of my managers asked me if I wanted to come in for a 10-hour, noon to close shift today.  I told her I’d think about it.

Not.

Image
Next time, I might make my own buttermilk to get more of that tang that is associated with red velvet.  Another idea that sounds even more delicious is to ditch the powdered sugar and top these bad boys with a cream cheese frosting or glaze.  They can stand on their own without the powdered sugar.  Maybe next time I’ll make these cookies blue or something.  Here are the recipe and directions.  

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Red Velvet Crinkle Cookies

  1. Pingback: Lemon Ginger Crinkle Cookies Recipe | Nosh My Way

Leave a Reply

