Pumpkin Ricotta Gnocchi

Image
I have another confession for you guys.  Until today, I’d never had homemade gnocchi, only from a package…made by a machine.

Frozen.

I’ve been looking at gnocchi recipes for years, always thinking I would get around to making them.  But, I never found the time to bake up some potatoes and turn them into the smooth magic that is the base for potato gnocchi.  The greatest thing about this recipe, other than the amazing flavor and texture, is that you can use canned pumpkin.  All you have to do is make the dough, portion and boil it, and then finish it off in a pan with some butter and your favorite herbs.  

Image
In a large mixing bowl, combine two eggs, one cup of pumpkin puree, one cup of ricotta, a large handful of parmesan, two cups of flour, and a dash of nutmeg if you have it.  You’re going to need flour, but you add the rest of it more gradually.  Mix this with your hands and add more flour until it forms a pliable dough.  I added about two more cups.

Image
Throw a bunch of flour on your clean counters and cut your dough into four fairly even portions.  Bring a pot of salted water to a boil.

Last night, I worked the closing shift at my (crappy) retail job, so I didn’t get home until almost eleven.  Usually, I come home and we’ll watch an episode of Ally McBeal, maybe have a quick drink, and go to bed.  After immediately disappearing into the bathroom to wash my face off, I came out to discover that Jerad had cleaned the entire kitchen from top to bottom while I was at work.

I think I’ll keep him.

Image
Take a fourth of the dough and roll it into a log, about a finger and a half wide.  Sprinkle with flour and cut into even pieces.  Mine were just under an inch wide.

Image
Roll each piece over the back of a fork and try not to squish them too much.  The idea is to form ridges for whatever sauce you might use to cling to and to make the gnocchi a little thinner for even cooking.

I spaced on you and forgot to take pictures of the actual cooking process, but you throw the gnocchi into a pot of boiling salted water until they float, about two minutes.  They might stick to the bottom, so be sure to free them if you have to so they don’t overcook.

Finally, heat up a few tablespoons of butter in a frying pan on medium-high heat until the butter stops frothing all over the place.  Add the gnocchi in batches; you want them to form a single layer.  I didn’t have sage, so I added fresh thyme.

Image
Top with a sprinkle of parmesan and some black pepper.

Image
I only used half of my dough.  You can freeze it by rolling it into a ball, placing it in a freezer bag, and pressing down so it forms a thick disc.

Fall makes everything taste amazing.

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Ricotta Gnocchi

  1. Pingback: Beet Gnocchi | KITCHEN CONVERSATIONS WITH EMILY

  2. Pingback: Fresh Gnocchi with Artichoke Sauce | Seattle Foodshed

Leave a Reply

