Smoked Mozzarella, Bacon, and Apple Grilled Cheese

Image
It started out innocently enough.  We were running very low on groceries and only needed something that I could easily cook up for a couple of nights before heading to our love, Wegmans.  Here’s how it happened:

Me: “How about grilled cheese with tomato soup?”
Jerad: “No…I don’t want tomato soup.”
Me: “Oh, here’s some apple-smoked mozzarella.  How about a grilled cheese with apples?”
Jerad: “And bacon?!”

It was all downhill from there.  I slowly cooked the bacon in a frying pan to render off the fat, which I saved in a jar.  Then, I did something really bad.

I brushed the bacon fat on the bread.  

This is where it turned into a sinful and mouthwatering creation.  After that, you do your usual grilled cheese routine: butter on a skillet, toppings, close, and flip.  I wish I had a picture to show you how beautifully brown the bread turned.  

Image
GAH.

Jerad: “Well, it was a little bit healthy…”
Me: ……
Jerad: “You know…because of the apples.”

He was kidding, obviously.

Make this grilled cheese.  It is divine.

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Smoked Mozzarella, Bacon, and Apple Grilled Cheese

  1. Carol says:

    That looks SOOOO good. I love a bacon cheese tomato sandwich but think I’d enjoy the crunch of the apple.

  2. Pingback: Don’t Go Half-Way to Brodhead | Adventures in Travel

  3. Pingback: Perfect Rainy Day Meal: Lemon-Zest Basil Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Tomato Soup | Eating My Feelings

Leave a Reply

