Sour Cream Pancakes

Image
Something about these pancakes feels very southern to me.

I like it.

In the past, I only experimented with pancake mix-ins.  Chocolate, coconut, corn, berries, etc…but lately I’ve been trying out recipes that alter the very base of this magical breakfast item, the pancake, the hotcake, the flapjack.  Pancakes, I love you.

Here is the recipe for these tangy medallions of goodness, from none other than Ree Drummond.  

Image
Start with Wegmans.  I MEAN…sour cream.  

Image
Whisk together your flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt.  You’ll probably think, “Wow only seven tablespoons of flour?” Remember that the base of this particular batter is the sour cream.  Don’t worry, everything will be okay.

Image
Try not to eat all of your sour cream before you get it into the bowl.  

Image
It will look really gross and goopy at first.  We still have a little more liquid coming!

Image
Add your eggs and vanilla and mix until just combined.

Image
You’ll end up with a luxurious looking batter.  Go ahead, taste it.

Image
Then just cook them the way you would any other pancake, a griddle and a decent amount of butter.  Sour cream pancakes will be a little more tender than your typical pancake.  I can’t wait to add fruit to these!

Enjoy! 

 

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

