Game Day Calzones

Image
I keep doing this thing where I cook delicious things, take lots of pictures, and then forget to share them with you.

It’s selfish of me.  I apologize.

I don’t watch football, but Jerad get’s excited for every Buffalo Bills game.  I decided to use some of the pizza dough I bought at Wegmans to make calzones.  It was the night after I made the steak, mushroom, and onion tacos and I was still in I-just-don’t-even-know mode when it came to the fillings for these bad boys.  I ended up going with Italian marinated chicken, mushrooms, onions, and a spinach and ricotta mixture.  I guess Le Boyfriend approved because we both ate two that afternoon and the other two for breakfast the next morning.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Image
Now I have to warn you.  This is all extremely approximate.  I just made the best of all the amazingness I have.  Mix together about a cup of ricotta, a hefty sprinkle of parmesan, and some lightly sautéed spinach.  Season with salt and pepper.  Enjoy a spoonful before you throw an egg in there and can’t eat it anymore.

Image
Mmmmm…..fillings!  Like I said, I determined how much I needed by how much dough I had.  I made six medium-sized calzones.

Image
I know this sounds weird, but don’t flour your counter!  Only the tool you use to roll the dough.  It tends to seize up if it doesn’t have something to cling to.

Image
Spoon on a bit of the ricotta mixture and then add your favorite toppings.  Don’t let the ricotta spread too much.  It’ll make folding and sealing a pain in the butt.

Image
Fold, seal, and poke a few vents in them so they don’t explode.  Brush with a beaten egg.  Then bake for about 15-20 minutes until they’re golden and beautiful.

Image
Finally, serve it up with some warm marinara.  I’ll be making these again sometime soon, this time with a whole wheat dough and some alternate fillings.

I think you’re ready for sour cream pancakes.  Get excited.

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Game Day Calzones

  1. Cheryl Rogers says:

    These look so yummy!

Leave a Reply

