Caribbean Spiced Chicken and Manchego Potatoes

Image
I have a thing for buying random ingredients and trying to cook with them.  A while back Le Boyfriend and I tried out Whole Foods.  We ended up spending a lot of money on…not a lot of stuff.  We mostly stuffed our faces with their incredible sample selection and found some odds and ends.

Image
I came across this gem!  I love spice rubs.  They are magic, they do magical things to meat, and they smell soooo good.  I can’t tell you how long I spent with my nose in the stuff before I finally got around to using it.  I can’t wait to experiment with it more!  I bet it would taste amazing on potatoes.

Image
Start by rubbing a generous amount all over a couple of chicken breasts.  While you let all of it’s goodness rest on the chicken for about fifteen minutes, you can get everything else ready to go.

Image
Grate up a couple of potatoes.  I used red potatoes because it’s what I had on hand, but I think it would have been better with some good old russet potatoes.  Use paper towels to squeeze out the extra liquid.

Image
Chop up half an onion…

Image
Take a break from the potatoes and throw your chicken in a very hot skillet with some oil.  The point is to sear it on both sides and then turn the heat down and let it cook the rest of the way.  The thing I love about spice rubs is that you get an amazing crust of deliciousness.

Image
In another pan, cook your onions in some olive oil until they start to sweat.  Add the grated potatoes and cook until everything starts to get all brown and yummy.  Then, grate in some manchego!  It’ll go from this…

Image
To this!

Image
Serve it up and watch Ally McBeal.  Yum!

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Caribbean Spiced Chicken and Manchego Potatoes

  1. Carol says:

    what spices are in the Rub?

Leave a Reply

