Steak, Mushroom, and Onion Tacos

ImageSo after my Wegmans trip this past weekend, I was looking at my loot and thinking to myself…

“IDK.  I JUST DON’T EVEN K!!!”

I found so many amazing things that I wasn’t sure where to start.  I finally caved and bought the skirt steak I’d been eyeing for, oh I don’t know, two years?  I looked at it several times when I first moved into my own apartment, but at the time beef didn’t really move me that much.  My junior year, I was all about chicken (when I could afford it), and senior year I was super into pork.  Now I just love meat.

I could never be vegetarian.  Don’t hate me.

I decided to go with tacos, but I didn’t have all of my usual toppings.  I’m usually all about the guacamole and the salsa and bold flavors.  On this particular night, I was really craving tacos.  They turned out pretty tasty.  If you’re a mushroom addict like me, this is the taco for you!

ImageStart by seasoning your skirt steak (though you could really use your favorite steak) and bringing it up to room temperature. This helps the meat stay tender when it cooks.  Cold steak seizes up.  Plus, if you like your steak rare/medium rare and you skip this step, it might still be a little cold after cooking. Gross.

My spice rub consisted of smoked paprika, cayenne, onion and garlic powder, salt, and pepper.  Use your hands to really get it all over.  I let mine sit for 15-20 minutes while I made sure everything else was prepped.

ImageStart by slicing up some mushrooms and half an onion.  I left both the mushroom and onion in fairly large chunks because I didn’t want them to shrivel up and disappear when I cooked them.

Sadly, these were my only process shots for this post.  I was cooking everything on such high heat that I didn’t really have time to grab my camera without burning down my building.  So, I’m going to give you a basic run down of how my tacos came together:

You need two frying pans.

Get your first pan very hot with a drizzle of olive oil.  If you splash a little water in there, it should immediately go “TSSSSS”. Place the steak in the pan, laying away from you, and cook on both sides for 3-5 minutes, depending on how you like your steak.  Remove from the heat and allow to rest until you’re ready to slice it and assemble the tacos.

Heat up the second pan with a little bit of oil.  The onions are going to take longer to cook so start with those.  Add them to the pan and sprinkle in a little bit of smoked paprika.  Cook until the onions are translucent and softened, but still have some bite to them.  Transfer to a plate or bowl.

In the same pan, add a little more oil and the mushrooms.  Try not to move them around too much so they’ll brown more than they’ll steam.

Image

Finally, display all of your fillings in your pretty new bowls (thanks, Wegmans!).

ImageAssemble and sprinkle with manchego!  You could also use parmesan or gruyere, basically any salty, hard cheese you have lying around.  They’re tacos, they aren’t supposed to be too complicated.

I toasted my tortillas on the stove briefly before assembling.  Do it.  So good.

I know I’ve been a little slow to post lately.  I had an audition yesterday that I’ve been practicing for like crazy!  I should know the results within a week.  I’ve still been cooking a lot.  I just haven’t had the time to write about all of the things I’ve made.  I finally have some time to catch up!

And eat.  Always.

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

