Polenta-Crusted Rosemary Potatoes

ImageI love potatoes in the morning more than any other time of day.  They are a perfect addition to any breakfast.  Whenever I go out for morning meals, I always order homefries and I make sure everybody orders their own so I can have mine all to myself.

In the spirit of mornings, I won’t drone on anymore about the awesomeness of morning potatoes and I’ll get right into this.  The recipe called for me to roast them in the oven, but I couldn’t get my potatoes crispy enough and I finished them on the stove.  I kinda wish I’d just done them stovetop all the way.  Keep that in mind!

ImageChop up four red potatoes into large chunks.  Throw all the chunks in a pot of salted water, bring it to a boil, and then turn the temperature down slightly.  Let them cook for ten minutes.

Side note while your potatoes boil: I don’t think I like red potatoes!  I used them because the recipe called for them, but I find that the red ones get too sweet.  Next time I’ll try this with boring old russets.

ImageIn a mixing bowl, combine a few tablespoons of polenta, salt, and pepper.

ImageAt this point you should be able to pierce your potatoes with a fork.  Drain well and toss them in the polenta until well coated.

If you are putting them in the oven, start preheating your oven to 425 degrees.  I would just finish them on the stove.

ImagePeel up some cloves of garlic.  Be a garlic-head!  Do it!

A violin teacher once told me how she loved my fat finger tips, that it would make me a better violinist because I have the ability to form “footies”, where your finger fat gets pushed up and past your nails.  I’ll take it as a compliment!

ImageHeat up enough olive oil in a cast iron skillet that it covers the bottom.  Toss in a few sprigs of rosemary and your peeled garlic cloves.  Cook it for a few minutes until everything starts to smell really good.

ImageDump the potatoes in there and get everything covered in that yummy garlic and rosemary oil.  You can either put it in the oven (for ten minutes, then toss, then ten more) or just crisp them on the stove.

ImageIf I had been thinking clearly, I would have sprinkled mine with some cheese.  But, they were great anyway.  Serve these up with some eggs and bacon.

Enjoy!

 

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

