Flat-Roast Rosemary Chicken

ImageThis is one of my absolute favorite ways to cook chicken.  It comes out perfectly cooked every time and I don’t worry about undercooking it the way I do when I roast whole chickens.  Plus, I find that I get a lot more flavor in there because the spices can be more evenly distributed.  

Whenever I make this Le Boyfriend raves about it.  Other than myself, he’s probably my biggest critic, meaning that I test out all of my goodies on him and he gives me suggestions that help me tweak them the next time.  He was pretty excited about this meal and that rosemary was going to be in the mix.

Here is my final blah-blah before I tell you how to make this magic.  There’s this thing out there, made famous by Cosmopolitan I believe, called “Engagement Chicken”.  The idea is that you make that chicken for your man and he will propose.  It involves stuffing a chicken with whole lemons and hoping it will turn out (I’ve read horror stories) and honestly isn’t spiced all that much.  Supposedly it gives off wife-y vibes.

My point is, I’m pretty sure this chicken is better.  A lot better.  I’m not promising any proposals, but this is definitely one that will put a grin on your boyfriend’s/girlfriend’s/anybody-you’re-cooking-for’s face.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

ImageCut the backbone out of a roasting chicken and flip it over.  Press down on the breast bone until it kinda looks like this.  Pat dry and get ready for some spices!  I used salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder.  That’s it!  But, you could always improvise. I have this Caribbean rub sitting in my cupboard that I’m dying to try next time I make chicken.

ImageBad picture of the post, but you get the idea.  Heat up a cast iron skillet over medium-high (more like high…) heat.  Add a pat of butter and a couple tablespoons of olive oil. Cook the chicken breast side down for a few minutes to brown the skin. 

Flip it back over and put the pan in the oven for about 20 minutes per pound.  Mine was just over 3.5 pounds and an hour and just under 20 minutes worked fine!

ImageFirst, take a few moments to look at the magic you’ve created.  Crispy skin, all browned and perfect.  Then, take it out of the pan and let it rest while you make the final magic happen.

ImageStart by turning the stove back on to medium heat.  The pan will already be hot, but this is just to keep that going.  Deglaze your pan with about a cup of wine and scrape all that deliciousness off the bottom.  Pour in enough chicken stock that it covers the bottom of the pan, adding more as needed.  Throw in a couple sprigs of rosemary!  Finish off with a squirt of lemon juice, and cook until it starts to thicken.  Carve up the chicken and spoon the sauce over your plate.

It is so good.

Enjoy!

 

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

