Banoffee Pie

ImageThis is the first pie anything I’ve ever made!  If you’ve ever seen the film Love Actually, you’ll remember that Juliet tried to bribe her new husband’s best friend for their wedding video with a slice of banoffee pie.  I always wondered what it was and finally got around to looking it up.

Juliet, how could you think you have terrible taste in pie when this pie is so scrumptious?!

That shortbread crust, those banana slices, the dulce de leche!  I have to admit that my main motivation for making this pie was the crust.  I might be addicted to shortbread.  I can’t buy shortbread cookies because I will eat them.  

I will eat all of them.

Thank you Always Order Dessert for this lovely recipe.  You can find it here!

ImageI chose the “safe” way.  Heat up your oven to 425 degrees.  Pour your sweetened condensed milk into a shallow pan (I used an 8×8).  Don’t make a mess like me.  If you do make a mess, be sure to slurp some off your hands.

ImageSeal that pan with foil, and place it in a larger pan.  Pour hot water into the larger pan so it comes up half way up the sides of the smaller pan.  Put this in the oven for just under an hour.

ImageWhile that’s in the oven, you can get started with the crust.  Make sure your butter is COLD.

ImagePress it into a pie dish or tart pan and poke some holes in the bottom.  My tart pan got bashed in a little during the move, so I got to use my Pyrex pie dish for the first time ever!  Put this in the freezer for about fifteen minutes and then bake for 20 minutes at 425 degrees.  How convenient, your oven is ready to go!

Quick story!  I broke Pyrex one time.  I was running through the hall in my house and I smacked it with my flailing arm.  I am so talented in my clumsiness.

ImageMy dulce de leche had some small clumps in it, but it tasted soooo good that I decided not to call it quits.  Whisk until cool.

ImageTime to assemble this pie!  The great thing about banoffee pie is that both the crust and the caramel can be made ahead of time.

Image

ImageRather than a single layer of thickly cut bananas, I went with a few layers of of thin slices.  While I made the whipped cream topping, I put this in the freezer so the bananas wouldn’t slide around so much when I cut into the pie.

ImageI sprinkled mine with cocoa powder, but you could always drizzle yours with some chocolate ganache.  I look forward to experimenting with this pie in the future!

Enjoy!

 

 

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Banoffee Pie

  1. Carol says:

    shortbread is my favorite cookie…..this could be dangerous!!!

  2. Jeff Jung says:

    I love what you are doing here!

Leave a Reply

