Cajun Chicken Pasta (Birthday Feast, Part 2!)

ImageI tried so hard to hold out until tomorrow to post this dish.  I really did.  But, it’s so good!  I love the smoky heat, the kind that doesn’t send you running for water.  I have a funny story about spice, and then I’ll dive into the food.

When I was in school and still living in the dorm, we had Linda.  She was the magical dorm mommy who could brighten your day just with the sound of her voice.  She knew I’d been going through some stuff and decided to treat me and my friend Kevin to some Chinese takeout.  I got kung pao chicken, my go to takeout meal.  While we were shoveling down our so-bad-it’s-good dinner, I came across a crinkly, deep red pepper.  My brain told me it was a good idea to take a huge bite of it.

It wasn’t.

I spent the next fifteen minutes running up and down the hallway, eyes watering, unable to get enough water, and eventually sipping on some milk that may have been a little expired.

The point is, super spicy isn’t always better.  Smoky spicy is.

ImageI’ve had my eye on this Pioneer Woman (surprise, surprise…) recipe for quite some time.  Because I’m not cooking for a bunch of hungry cowboys, just the one, I adjusted the amounts a bit.  Chop up half of a red onion, a red pepper, and a green pepper. Chunks like this will do just fine.  Thank…fajitas!

If you’re less of a space cadet than I am, you won’t forget that you bought two plum tomatoes and some garlic to go in with the veggies.  It was still insanely yummy, but the acidity would have been a nice touch.

ImagePick your favorite pasta.  You want something a little bit sturdy.  

ImageI made the same spice mix as I did for the Baked Bloomin’ Onion.  Smoked paprika, cayenne, garlic and onion powder, salt, and black pepper.  You want to make sure you have a few tablespoons worth.

ImageCube up a couple of chicken breasts and coat them in the spices.  Don’t be afraid to get them really spiced up.

ImageGet a pan nice and hot with just a little bit of oil.  The idea is to get it really brown.  Try not to move it around too much or it’ll steam instead of sear.

ImageDo the same with the veggies.  You don’t want them to get soggy, but you want that seared flavor.

ImagePut all of this on a plate to the side and drool.

ImageDeglazing is one of my favorite things.  Flavor…oh amazing flavor.  Pour about a cup of each, starting with a dry white wine, and scrape all the goodness off the bottom.

ImagePour in some heavy cream!  Let it get all bubbly and good.

ImageThen it’s time to throw it all together.  It all goes back in the pan with the pasta and is topped with some fresh chopped parsley.

ImageThen eat ALL OF IT.  Because it’s my birthday feast and I said so.

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cajun Chicken Pasta (Birthday Feast, Part 2!)

  1. Carol says:

    Yummy looking… I’ve never had Smoked paprika. I’ll have to find it and add it to my spices 🙂
    I’ll have to find something to use all this Pineapple Sage on…my plant is taking over. I just froze some of my basil in olive oil and chocolate mint in water (ice cube trays). and my rosemary will grow all winter :).
    and I’m sure you learned milk instead of water for spicy mouth LOL

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Breakfast Potatoes | My Gas Stove

Leave a Reply

