Baked Bloomin’ Onion (Birthday Feast, Part 1!)

ImageIf you’ve ever had a Bloomin’ Onion, you know that they are deliciously horrible for you.  Those crispy petals, that luscious sauce!  My mouth is watering just thinking about it.  When I first signed up for Pinterest a few years ago, I came across a recipe for a baked version. Who wouldn’t want one of these babies without all the excess bad-for-you stuff?

This recipe is great because the onion really shines.  Just a small heads up though! The center of the onion will be stronger than the outer layers.  I think the restaurants that served this appetizer cut that part out to put a little sauce cup in the middle than on the side.

Start be preheating your oven to 400 degrees!

ImageMy spice mix included smoked paprika, cayenne, garlic and onion powder, salt, and black pepper.  Pour in a couple of cups of panko breadcrumbs and mix it all up!

ImageBeat two eggs with a splash of water.

ImageChop off the top of an onion, but leave the root!  You need it.

ImagePeel your onion and flip it cut side down on the cutting board.  Starting from the root and cutting straight down, cut the onion into sixteen segments.

ImageFlip it back over and pull the layers apart into a pretty flower!

The next part is a little bit tedious but totally worth it.

ImageThe way I got this completely coated was to go around the onion in each of the sixteen segmented areas, use one hand to rub the egg over all the petals, and the other hand to sprinkle the seasoned breadcrumbs.  Try to get everything as coated as possible.

ImageMake a tent out of some foil to completely cover your onion.  Bake for five minutes, then remove the tent and bake for 10-15 minutes until the tips are crispy and the petals are softened.

ImageTo make this easier to eat, I used a small knife to cut down around the root so we could just pluck the petals.

I would have taken a picture of the sauce but…we were hungry.  Oops!  It was pretty much the spice mix from before mixed with a plop of mayonnaise, squirt of ketchup and dijon mustard, and some horseradish for a bit of spice.

I don’t know about you…but I’m feelin’ twenty-TWOOOO!  

I’m hoping that I can get that song out of my brain now that my birthday is over.

Enjoy!

 

 

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baked Bloomin’ Onion (Birthday Feast, Part 1!)

  1. Gma says:

    thanks…I will be trying this
    great way to celebrate that special day

  2. Carol says:

    looking forward to trying this since it’s baked not fried.

  3. Pingback: My Favorite Breakfast Potatoes | My Gas Stove

  4. Pingback: Crispy Baked Onion Rings Recipe | Nosh My Way

Leave a Reply

