Flourless Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

PHEW!  Say that name five times fast.  I promise they are a lot less complicated than the name implies.

I know I was missing in action for a few days on here, but I’m going to try to make it up to you with cookies.  Deal?

Image

ImageI want to start by thanking the ladies of Wild Friends Nut Butter for making these delicious cookies possible.  You should definitely check them out, buy yourself a jar, and try not to eat all of it in one sitting while watching Revolution with a spoon.

What?  Not me, no way.  This is their site.  Thanks, Keeley and Erika!

I’ve been looking at flourless baking recipes for a while.  They scare me, but they’re delicious.  Java’s, the coffee shop right next to Eastman, started selling chocolate-walnut flourless cookies and they are to die for.  It’s basically a brownie….but it’s a cookie!  I will be attempting something similar very soon.

I wanted to find a recipe that wasn’t completely loaded with sugar and let the peanut butter shine.  This is what I came up with!

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

ImageHalf a cup of brown sugar….

ImageHalf a cup of this delicious goodness.  There are actual raisins in there!

ImageI realize what this looks like.  It get’s better.

Cream the two together with a mixer the way you would regular old butter and sugar.

ImageAdd an egg and mix well.

ImageUsing your hands (trust me, it’s easier) mix in a hefty pinch of baking powder and a heaping cup of oats.

ImageThis should make about 24 small cookies.  They won’t spread much, if at all, so you can place them pretty close together.

Then you just put them in the oven for 6-8 minutes until the bottoms are lightly browned.

ImageThe flavor doesn’t scream peanut butter cookie the way I expected, but they’re a really yummy and healthy treat.  Each cookie is only about 60 calories and provides a boost of protein.

I had some at work yesterday when I was getting hangry.  Yes, hangry, meaning I’m one of those who gets pretty cranky when I don’t eat.

Coming up tomorrow, a baked Bloomin’ Onion and the Pioneer Woman’s Cajun chicken pasta.  Yum!

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

