Blueberry Scones

Image

Whenever I bake, there is some level of panic involved.  The Lemon Magic Cake was an 8 on a scale from 1 to 10, and the Cinnamon Roll Cookies were more frustration than panic.  These were about a 6, not because of the actually baking process, but the fact that I spent a long time trying to find a recipe that didn’t involve buttermilk and happened to find one sweetened with honey instead of sugar.

They’re really yummy!  I definitely enjoy a crumbly scone that doesn’t make your mouth feel like you just tried to complete the saltine challenge.  Those suckers dry your mouth out like crazy.  I ate two, which I decided was acceptable considering I only had a yogurt for breakfast and had to work tonight.  I came home to find out that Jerad ate FOUR.  I guess he approves.  

Now that I have this basic scone recipe, I can experiment, though I do love a blueberry scone.  Here’s how it went!

ImageFirst, mix up two cups of flour, two teaspoons of baking powder, and a half-teaspoon of baking soda.  I had salted butter, but if you don’t, throw in a pinch of salt.

ImageCut in a stick of (in my case, salted) butter.  I used my hands to break it up into crumbly bits.

ImageIn a separate bowl, mix an egg yolk, 1/2 cup milk, and three tablespoons of honey.

Image

ImagePour wet into dry, and mix until just combined.  Your spoon should stand up like this when you stick it in the batter.

ImageFold in a heaping half cup of blueberries.  Mine were frozen, so I thawed and drained them.  That’s why my batter is all blue and swirly and pretty.

ImageForm a circle on an ungreased baking sheet and put it in a 400 degree oven for 15-20 minutes.  Just over fifteen minutes was enough for mine!

ImageIt will come out all puffy like this!  Then just slice it into eight pieces like a pizza and either serve as is or make a quick glaze.  All you have to do to make a glaze is mix powdered sugar with a splash of milk.   I made mine in the same bowl I used to thaw my blueberries, so my glaze is a little purple!

ImageI will definitely be having one of these for breakfast tomorrow.  For now, it is time for me to get some sleep!  I get my red couch tomorrow, gotta be well rested for that.

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blueberry Scones

  1. Gma says:

    I love scones…will have to make some 🙂

  2. Pingback: Blueberry-Flax Scone | Superfoodista

Leave a Reply

