Summer Squash Bake and Curry-Tuna Salad

ImageSquash is another thing I used to hate as a kid.  It was so squishy and weird and I refused to eat it.  Luckily, it wasn’t something I was required to eat that often.  

I think I realized that squash is actually incredible when I started eating at The Pita House.  They make a mean stuffed squash.  If you are ever in Greenville, SC, go here. It is so incredible.  I make sure to go to The Pita House every time I visit home.  Funny story, I took Jerad here a couple of months ago and we bought a big box of baklava. We only got to eat a couple pieces before we FORGOT IT and drove back to Rochester. It was so sad.

ImageTime to turn that frown upside down.  Chop up a couple of cloves of garlic and half an onion.

ImageSaute them in some olive oil and a touch of butter until the onions are soft.  Don’t burn the garlic!

ImageSpread the garlic and onion on the bottom of a small baking dish.

Image

ImageSlice up your zucchini and yellow squash.  You don’t want the slices too thin.

ImageGet ready to start alternating colors in the dish!  At this point, you want to preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

ImageStart by alternating the colors and making them pretty, then freak out and realize you have to much squash and just start stuffing them in there.

ImageSeason with salt and pepper and cover with foil.  I baked mine for 30 minutes, but if you like a slightly crunchier squash, reduce the time to 20 minutes before moving on to the next step.

After 30/20 minutes, remove the foil, sprinkle with a good layer of cheese (I used smoked gouda and some gruyere), and put it back in the oven until the cheese is brown and bubbly.

ImageYum!

The curry-tuna salad is super easy.

ImageIt’s ugly, but it’s easy.  Canned tuna, mayonnaise, curry powder, salt and pepper to taste.  Done!

ImageMy arugula finally kicked the bucket.  It lasted for a week!  It’s a pretty fantastic green and I plan on buying it a lot more often.  I recommend buying it in one of those plastic box packages and going organic if you can.

Enjoy!

 

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

