Vodka Sauce

ImageWhen I read somewhere that vodka brightens and enhances the flavor of tomatoes, I smirked.  Now I know that cooking with booze makes magic happen, but I didn’t see any reason to pour my Grey Goose into a sauce.  It seemed like a waste.  I was just going to pretend that the vodka sauce I held so dear didn’t really contain any vodka.

I made this for some pasta as a snack while I baked my Lemon Magic Cake.  Here’s how it went.

ImageStart with a basic marinara sauce.  I make mine by cooking up some onions and garlic in a little olive oil until the onions get soft.  Don’t burn your garlic!  Add a can or so of crushed tomatoes.  Mine had basil.

ImageHere’s the painful part.  Most recipes call for 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup of vodka.  I only had about a shot and a half left.  Cover your eyes or look away, whatever you need to do, and pour it in.  Try not to wince.

Cook this down for about fifteen minutes, adding water as needed so it doesn’t get gummy.  Then give it a taste.

It is MAGIC!  The flavor of the tomatoes is vibrant.  I could have eaten the whole pan of it right there.  But, I had to add cream and turn it into velvet bliss.

ImageAdd about half a cup of your favorite hard cheese.  Every recipe I’ve read calls for parmesan, but all I had was a hunk of gruyere.

ImageAdd as much cream is you like.  Start with 1/4 cup and go from there.  I didn’t want the flavor of the tomatoes to be overwhelmed by the cream.  Salt and pepper to taste.

ImageBeautiful, luscious, velvety magic.  That is what vodka sauce is.

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

