Lemon Mint Granita

This is the most refreshing thing I have ever tasted.  I felt as if I were being cooled and cleansed from the inside out.  It would be a wonderful treat for a hot summer day.  I know summer is coming to a close (*sobs*), but this is a lot of fun.

I made a full pan of this lovely lemon and mint granita, had one bowl, and then Le Boyfriend ate the rest of it.  I made mine pretty tart, so he sprinkled it with a little bit of sugar.  It was really fun and easy, and I can’t wait to try other granita recipes.

Also, I almost forgot.  Can you say…limoncello?  Imagine a splash of that over this stuff.

ImageStart by cutting out all of the fruit of four lemons.  I did this by slicing off the tips and then cutting around the inside of the peel, sort of like how you would eat a kiwi.  Do this over a bowl.  You want to catch all of that juice!

ImageTry to remove most or all of the seeds.  Some of them will already be floating around in the juice.  Also, try not to have hands destroyed by working in retail to do this.  It will sting.

Worth it!

ImageThrow a few bunches of mint leaves into the bowl of your food processor.  Add the lemon juice and fruit and pulse until it’s kinda blendy.  The idea is to get all of that flavor going.  Let this sit for ten minutes.

You might notice from this post and a few others that I have this horrible habit of filling up my food processor and realizing two seconds later that I forgot to put the blade in, only to have to pull most of it out or scoot it around without slicing myself trying to get it in there.

Don’t be like me.

ImageAfter those grueling ten whole minutes where your kitchen smells like clean magic, press the goodies in the food processor through a fine mesh strainer.  Or, if you are like me and you don’t have one, you can improvise.  You could use cheesecloth.  You could use a small colander with a paper towel in it.You could poke holes into a store bag and dump it in there.

Can you guess which one I did?

Add four cups of water and sugar to taste.  I did three tablespoons but I probably should have done four or five.

ImagePour it into a large baking dish.  Mine was only about half an inch deep.  This is a good thing.  The thinner it is, the faster it freezes, and the sooner you get to eat it.  All of it.

ImageScrape it with a couple of forks every hour until it’s completely frozen and looks like this.

ImageServe it up with a sprig of mint.  Get ready for a refreshing treat!

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

