Brats in Beer, with Crispy Polenta

ImageI am trying to catch you up on all the stuff I cooked for my sister last week!  This one goes out to my man Bobby Flay.  

He is a rockstar.

I came across this recipe by accident (surprise, surprise…).  I was just browsing the food network site a couple of weeks ago and I clicked on a video and this magic popped up.  I thought, “Hey…I have beer, and onion, and garlic, even ginger!”  All I needed was the main attraction.

Before I get to the good stuff, I have to continue to mourn over my lack of Wegmans. They are the best grocery store, they have an amazing selection at mostly decent prices, and they are open 24 hours.  Everything closes at nine here, sometimes earlier on weekends.  I’m just upset that stuff closes at all!  

Wegmans, I love you.  Come back to me.

ImageChop up half of a large onion, a nub of ginger, a few cloves of garlic, and some chives. I did mine only slightly different from the Bobby Flay video because I didn’t have cumin and mustard seeds on hand.  You want a fairly rough chop on these.  

ImageThrow it all in a big pot and add a couple bottles of your favorite beer.  Use something you like to drink.  The flavor of the beer you use penetrates the brats, so pick something yummy!  I had five brats.

Image

ImageThis is the beer I used.  I first drank this playing Madden with a couple of my best friends, Kevin and Tommy.  By playing I mean failing.  Hard.  

ImageAdd enough water that everything is covered and let it come to a boil, lid on.  You’ll let it boil for 10-15 minutes, until you have some floaters.

ImageIn the mean time, make some polenta.  Bring 3 1/4 cups salted water to a boil.  Slowly whisk in the grainy goodness so you don’t get any clumps.  Then, just stir the heck out of it so you don’t get bubbles of searingly hot (it will burn you) air.  Keep doing this until it’s super thick and it pretty much all sticks to your spoon.

ImageStuff the polenta into a lightly oiled bowl and put it in the fridge to firm up.

ImageWhen the sausage floats, it’s pretty much done.  Then you can just throw it into a hot cast iron skillet (or a grill if you are lucky enough to have one), and get it brown all over.

ImageWhen your polenta doesn’t feel like it’s going to crumble in your hands, take it out of the fridge and flip it onto a plate or cutting board.  Slice it into wedges.

ImageFry it in a hot pan with some vegetable oil until it gets a nice brown crust.

I don’t have a final plate picture of this because a) we were really hungry and b) in my haste to take a plate picture, all I ended up with was blurry, dark ugliness.

Great for a grill day!

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brats in Beer, with Crispy Polenta

  1. Gma says:

    my mouth is watering 🙂

Leave a Reply

