Shakshuka

ImageHere is another dish I’ve been meaning to make for a very long time.  In my first year of college, I spent my free time either napping or looking at recipes.  I had so many saved in my browser that I couldn’t keep track of them anymore.  

Since moving, I’ve been slowly building up my kitchen.  We brought most of our spices, but threw away just about everything else.  Except the booze…gotta keep the booze!  Anyways, I’m finally to a point where I don’t feel like I have to make a monster grocery list every time I want to cook something.  So, I bought some peppers and cumin and went to work this morning.

ImageStart by chopping up some onions and a couple of peppers.  I used a quarter of a really big onion and two jalapeños, seeded.  I would have used a third, but I was worried it would be too spicy for Le Boyfriend in the morning.  Personally, I love a kick in my breakfast.

Heat up a skillet with some olive oil and add the onions and peppers.  Cook them for a few minutes until they start to get soft.  While that’s cooking, mince four cloves of garlic.

ImageAdd your minced garlic, a tablespoon of paprika, and a teaspoon of cumin.  As you can see, I am fighting against the tyranny of measuring.

Just kidding.  I’m just too lazy to use them, plus I didn’t need another utensil to clean.

ImageThrow in a few cups of crushed tomatoes and half of a cup of water.  You want to thin the sauce so it has room to reduce without getting all dried up and gross.  Simmer for about fifteen minutes to get all the flavors going.  Salt and pepper to taste.

ImageCrack four eggs (or more if your pan is bigger and you are extra hungry) into your sauce.  Be gentle!  If you just plop them in there you’ll have egg whites everywhere.

ImageCook until your desired doneness.  I like my whites cooked and my yolks runny.

ImageSprinkle with crumbled feta and chopped parsley and you’re done.  Get yourself some crusty bread an dig in!

Enjoy!

 

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shakshuka

  1. jevbert1234 says:

    Looks amazing! Great post!

Leave a Reply

