Lemon Magic Cake

Image

When I first started the blog, I started asking my friends and family if there was anything they wanted me to cook.  Some wanted cakes and some wanted hot dips. When I asked my wonderful violin teacher from Eastman, Juliana, if she had anything in mind, she said the words “anything lemon”.

I immediately knew what I wanted to do.  I’d seen recipes floating around on Pinterest for something called magic cake, a mysterious cake whose batter has such a high liquid content that it separates into three layers as it bakes.  I searched everywhere for a lemon version.

When I read through the recipe it seemed totally doable.  Then, in the middle of making the batter, I realized the instructions had left out a couple of steps.  I immediately freaked out.  Baking is chemistry.  It’s already difficult enough without having to mix things around!  It brought me back to the time I tried to make a baked lemon pudding.  I panicked, swore a bit, pouted on the floor, and got back to work.

For you, I will put the directions up here the right way.

ImageStart by separating four eggs.  I had a large mixing bowl and a medium one.  Yolks in the big one, whites in the other.

ImageBeat your yolks with a cup of sugar until lighter in color and “ribbony”.

Add a stick of melted butter.  If you use salted, don’t add any other salt.  Unsalted, throw a pinch in there.  Beat until thoroughly mixed.

Add two cups of milk.  Make sure you let your milk sit for about ten minutes so it isn’t so cold that it makes the butter get clumpy.  Throw in a teaspoon of lemon zest.

Finally, a fourth of a cup at a time, add 3/4 of a cup of flour.

ImageYou will end up with a very liquid-y batter.  Don’t worry, this is right!

ImageTerrible picture, but you get the idea.  Beat your egg whites on high with two teaspoons of lemon juice until they form stiff peaks.

ImageGently mix the egg whites into the batter.  I used one of my mixer attachments to get it all incorporated.

ImagePour the batter into a buttered 8×8 baking dish and throw it in a 325 degree oven for one hour.  The top will be fluffy and golden brown.

ImageThis is what it should look like after an hour.  Put this in the fridge for three hours to help everything set.

ImageI used a little powdered sugar on my magic cake.

ImageThat’s it!  It comes out all custardy and delicious.  I was hoping for more lemon flavor.  Next time, I’ll experiment with adding more zest/juice.  I also think it would have been delicious topped with some lemon curd.

Enjoy!

Here are some easy directions for this:

Big Bowl

  • beat four egg yolks with one cup of sugar
  • mix in one stick of melted butter
  • add a teaspoon of lemon zest
  • add two cups of tepid milk
  • a fourth cup at a time, beat in 3/4 of a cup of flour

Smaller Bowl

  • beat four egg whites with two teaspoons of lemon juice until stiff peaks form

Back to Bigger Bowl

  • Fold egg whites into batter

Bake for one hour at 325 degrees.  After baking, leave in the fridge for at least three hours to help layers set.

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lemon Magic Cake

  1. Rebecca says:

    I am excited to try this! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Vodka Sauce | My Gas Stove

  3. Pingback: Blueberry Scones | My Gas Stove

  4. L Haley, Sugar Land, TX says:

    Sarah, great recipe – thanks! You have a real knack for good cooking – keep it up!

Leave a Reply

