Bailey’s Baked French Toast

I am a firm believer that anything cooked or baked with booze is better than without.  I absolutely love french toast, but when I saw a recipe for baked french toast with whatever booze I felt like cooked into it, I had to give it a try.  I stood in the liquor store for a really long time, finally settling on Bailey’s.  Sometime I would like to try this with bourbon or the apfelkorn I have sitting in my cupboard.

ImageStart by buttering a baking dish and placing your slice bread inside in two layers.  I really wanted the challah that my grocery store sells, but they were out of it the day I went in to prepare for this dish.  I settled on a nice and crusty Italian bread.

ImageDrink suggestion: Bailey’s in chocolate milk is perfection.

ImageAdd four tablespoons of Bailey’s (or your choice of liquor) to your egg mixture.  Mine had three eggs, three cups of milk, and a couple tablespoons of sugar.

ImagePour the egg mixture over your bread, sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar, and wrap tightly with plastic wrap.  Stick this in the fridge overnight, or as long as you can stand it.  You really want to get those flavors going.

ImageThe next morning, pop it into a 425 degree oven for 30-40 minutes.  It will come out all golden and puffy.  Let it sit for ten minutes and dig in!

ImageI made a Bailey’s whipped cream to top mine.  Just beat a cup of heavy whipping cream with a tablespoon of sugar until it forms stiff peaks.  Then, while beating on low, drizzle in a couple tablespoons of the good stuff.

ImageYum!

To be quite honest, I missed the crispness of french toast made the hard way, in a pan with hot butter.  Next time, I think I’ll make the same egg mixture, but cook it the old fashioned way.

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bailey’s Baked French Toast

  1. ericabella1545 says:

    Reblogged this on sweettreatsyum.

  2. Gma says:

    funny thing I made french toast last night for supper and made it with coconut extract and fried it in the skillet …yummy. But the Irish Creme sounds great. I would not use as milk as your recipe and I would probably fry it…or rum might be fun since the mixture is like eggnog 🙂

Leave a Reply

