Spring Vegetable Potstickers (Vegan!)

ImageI made 48 potstickers the other night.  I never thought I would make these and I made 48 of them.  My sister and Le Boyfriend went NUTS for them.  They even ate the rest of them without me yesterday while I was at work!  

I have to admit that I did this in two parts.  I’ve been doing so much cooking that I knew if I didn’t prep my filling the night before, I would keep putting it off and my yummy green veggies would go bad.  My prep would have taken a lot less time if I had a really sharp knife.  Merp.

ImageFor my potstickers, I had asparagus, green beans, scallions, chives, garlic, and ginger. It’s sort of a use-whatever-you-have type of recipe.  To me, that is the best kind of recipe.

Thank you Smitten Kitchen!

ImageStart by chopping off all of your vegetables.  I used a bundle of scallions, an almost-can’t-hold-this hand full of asparagus, a clove of garlic, a teaspoon of minced ginger (a thumb-sized nub), and a bunch of chives and green beans.  The apartment smelled amazing before I even got this stuff on the stove.

Image

ImageIf you don’t like tofu, trust me, you can’t taste it!  In these potstickers, it acts more like a filler.

ImageI call this the “Sorting Hat” cutting board.  Because it’s ugly.

Oh you may not think I’m pretty,
But don’t judge on what you see,
I’ll eat myself if you can find
A yummier board than me.

Yeah…it’s time for me to read Harry Potter.  Again.

ImageAdd your cooking oil to a hot pan.  Start by adding your ginger and garlic and stirring it around for a minute or so.  Then throw in your veggies in order from the most to least cooking time.  I began with my asparagus and green beans, then added my scallions.  Once your asparagus is cooked, and the tofu and chives.  

ImageCook only for a couple minutes until the chives start to wilt.  Yum!  Add salt and pepper to taste.

ImageFinally, throw it all into a food processor on chop.  You want to still know what veggies you are eating, but big chunks can make the potstickers difficult to fold.

This is where I called it quits for the night.  I was tired!

ImageMy first few were really ugly.  Don’t get discouraged.  It gets easier, I promise!

ImageI filled mine with a slightly heaping half-tablespoon of goodies.

ImageMy lovely 48 potstickers.  

ImageGet a pan with some cooking oil nice and hot.  We are frying these babies!  Though, you could probably go the healthy way and steam them.  I didn’t know how so…fried it is!

ImageThese won’t take long to cook, maybe a minute or so on each side.  I went around the circle of the pan putting them down, let them sit, and then went around the circle turning them on their sides.

ImageAnd that’s it!  Throw them on a plate with a paper towel to drain off some of the oil and dig in.

ImageI made a honey-soy-scallion dipping sauce.  It was salty and sweet!

Enjoy!

 

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Vegetable Potstickers (Vegan!)

  1. Fai says:

    These look delicious omg, but pray tell how you made the dough?

Leave a Reply

