Creamed Corn (Vegan Option!)

When you can’t sleep, blog!  Or something like that.

With the way I cook (meat, cheese, butter, etc…), I doubt I have ANY vegan followers, but I would like to try!  The ingredients for this version of creamed corn are corn (duh), water, salt, pepper, and a fat of your choice (butter or oil).  If you want to try the vegan option, go for the olive oil!  Or, if you have an intense love for butter…well, you know what to do.

ImageStart off by slicing the kernels off of five or six ears of corn.  Take half of the corn, half a cup of water, and the corn “milk” and put it into your food processor.  Pulse it a few times until you have a slightly textured puree.

To get the milky corn goodness, use the back of your knife to scrape or rub the cob.  It will end up looking something like the picture above.  Top half: destroyed.  Bottom half: not yet.

ImageCook up the other half of the kernels with some diced onion and two tablespoons of butter or olive oil.  You can use as much or as little onion as you like.  I used about half of a large one.  Season with salt and pepper and cook until soft.

ImageTake all of this goodness….

ImageAdd it to the goodness in the pan, stir it around, and add more water.  Cook it for about ten minutes.  You don’t want it to taste raw.  I added more water (about a cup) to mine because I like my creamed corn to have a similar consistency to a porridge.  I also added some cayenne for a little bit of a kick!

That’s about it!  It’s easy and a great way to use up your fresh corn when you don’t feel like corn on the cob.  I always feel like corn on the cob, but I thought this would be more fun.

Time to attempt sleep again!  I have to be all fresh for work tomorrow, and my sister arrives tomorrow evening.  Yay!  Up next, Banana-Chocolate Pops.

Enjoy!

 

 

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

