Sloppy Joes

ImageI used to be freaked out by sloppy joes when I was a kid.  I didn’t really know what was inside them, or what those mystery veggies were, or even what made the sauce so sweet. At that time in my life, I would have taken a cheeseburger over a sloppy joe any day.

Now that I’m all grown up, I love cheeseburgers no less than before, but my love for sloppy joes has soared!  They are so good!  They’re pretty easy to make and you can make them in a big batch for other occasions.  I will have my suggested uses for leftover meat at the end of this post!

Here we go!

ImageFirst, brown up some beef.  In this case, A LOT of ground beef.

ImageOnce it’s all brown and yummy, drain of as much of the fat as you can by tilting the pan and scooping it out with a spoon.

Your arteries will thank you.  Kinda.

ImageNext, add the diced up pepper and onion.  You might want to cut yours smaller, but I like my slop a little chunky.

ImageThen your garlic.  Don’t be afraid of the garlic.  This is five cloves of garlic, but it won’t punch you in the mouth by the time you end up eating your deliciousness.

ImageI have never put ketchup in a measuring cup before.  I usually just kinda squeeze it into whatever I feel like.

ImageOnce your veggies start to soften, add the cup and a half or so of ketchup and stir it all in.

ImageThen add your brown sugar, dry mustard, chili powder, salt, and black pepper.

ImageBecause it’s awesome, throw in a few splashes of the good stuff.  Worcestershire.  Yum.

ImageAfter that you just let it cook for about 15-20 minutes to really get all the flavors going.

In the mean time, you can toast your buns!

ImageWe decided to get creative and use these onion-poppyseed buns.  If you have something similar in your grocery store, it is totally worth it.  Plus, these were a little thinner, so I liked the meat to bread ratio.

Slice them in half and butter them.  If you’re like me, your butter will come out looking something like this….

ImageYep.  Butter face!

ImageThen just throw them in a pan until they toast up to your toast liking.

ImageI did the tops as well, just to make sure they were warm all the way through.

ImageNow THIS is the way to cook.  Steal your boyfriend’s slippers so your feet don’t get achy from standing on the tile after you stood up all day selling clothes.

ImageThrow the meat onto your toasted but and that’s it!  Sloppy Joes.  

Here is the recipe I used!

Suggestions for leftover slop:

  • omelets (the same way I did the Chipotle Omelets)
  • pizza
  • calzones
  • shepherd’s pie (just add more veggies and top with mashed potatoes and bake!)
  • nachos
  • pasta (like chili mac, but it’s sloppy mac)
  • in a casserole of some kind

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

