Goat Cheese Polenta and Flank Steak

I’ve honestly only had polenta a handful of times in my life, so it’s a little strange that I’ve been craving it for the past year.  It’s so soft and yummy, plus you can put just about any cheese in it and the mush will taste fantastic.

Now that I’ve moved somewhere without Wegmans, it can be difficult to find special ingredients like this.  I searched the entire store here in Quincy before I found one package of polenta.  Thanks, Bob’s Red Mill!

Someday I’ll pair my goat cheese polenta with short ribs like Ree Drummond, but for now, I’m okay with steak.

Side note: whenever I think about steak, I crave it and I must have it within a week.  I love steak.

ImageBefore you start cooking the polenta, whip up a quick marinade for your steak.  I was in the mood for worcestershire, so I mixed it up with a little olive oil, a hefty pinch of ground mustard, salt, and pepper.  Rub it all over the steak and leave it out on a plate while you cook your polenta.

Here’s something really important!  How many of you have cooked up a steak to a nice medium rare, only to find it still a bit cold in the middle?

*raises hand meekly*

Leave your steak out!  It’ll give it time to absorb a little seasoning and to warm up closer to room temperature.  No more cold centers!

ImageNow for the polenta.  Boil 4 1/2 cups of water.  Do this with the lid on so you don’t lose a bunch of it when it boils, and also so you don’t spend a billion years getting it to do so.

ImageSlowly pour a cup of the good stuff into your boiling water, whisking constantly so it doesn’t form any clumps.  Be prepared to stir for a while.  When it thickens up, bubbles will form and pop and try to attack you.

ImageThis is what it should look like after about fifteen minutes.  Most of it should stick in the whisk.

ImageAdd two tablespoons of butter…

ImageAnd an entire four ounce log of goat cheese…

Yum!

ImageThen you just stir until the goat cheese is fully incorporated and it’s a little lighter in color.  I ended up adding a bit of salt to mine.

ImageFor the steak, drizzle some olive oil into a pan, let it get nice and hot (the oil should be shimmering), and add the meat.  It should make that TSSSSS sound!  Cook it for about five minutes on each side for mid-rare.  I had a pretty thick steak.

ImageWhoops, I charred my edges a little, but I’m okay with that.

ImageAdmire your polenta while the steak rests.

ImageSTEAK.  That is all.

ImageWhile you descend into a frenzy of steak hankerings, I’m eating a “bowl” of watermelon. I found one of those baby seedless ones and cut it in half.  This is the life!

ImageThis is because I love to make you hungry.  I love anything with salted caramel.  If you find this in your grocery store, BUY IT.  It is seriously good.  It even comes with cute little salted caramel-filled chocolate cups on top!

You might see a few more breakfasts from me this week.  I’m working nights.  Ick.

Finally, happy birthday, Nelson Mandela! 

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

