Cinnamon Roll Cookies

When I was in elementary school, cinnamon rolls were my favorite special breakfast.  We always bought the ones in the tube that you just pop out and bake, and my siblings and I would fight over the ones that had the most icing.

I was pretty excited when I came across this recipe for Cinnamon Roll Cookies.  It brought back a lot of fun memories.  I usually save cookie baking for Christmas for gifts, but I really wanted to give this one a go.

ImageMine aren’t nearly as pretty as the pictures on the blog where I found the recipe, but they sure are tasty!  I tried to get my boyfriend to take the leftovers with him to work so I wouldn’t be tempted to eat every single one.  He forgot.

ImageStart by “sifting” the dry ingredients (flour, salt, baking soda) with a whisk.

ImageThen, cream the butter and sugars together.  My butter was a little melty because I forgot to take it out of the fridge to soften and then I put it in the microwave too long, but it worked out okay!

ImageOnce you’ve checked it for poison, meaning you’ve tasted the amazingness that is pure butter and sugar, add the egg white and vanilla.  It will come out looking something like this.  Try to make sure there aren’t any brown sugar lumps.  You’ll just end up having to pick them out of the dough later…and eat them.

ImageAdd the dry ingredients to the wet ones and mix until just combined.  I started with a whisk and switched to my hands when I no longer had a dainty cooking utensil.

ImageAh…cookie dough.  Let’s be friends.

ImageGive it another taste or five.

ImageHere’s where the tricky part starts.  You’re supposed to roll this out into a 12-inch square. At first I was looking at the dough thinking, “How do I know what twelve inches is?!”

Go ahead, make your jokes….done? Okay.

Try not to lose your cool.  It’s worth it.

ImageIf you’re like me and you don’t actually own a rolling pin, try to find the next best thing. This time it was my coconut oil cooking spray.  When I made pasta I used a wine bottle and then drank the wine afterwards.

ImageIt will start looking something like this.  Almost there!

Once you have your square, stick it in the fridge for about 20 minutes to chill.  For me, the half an hour recommendation was too long and it dried out my dough a bit.

ImageWhile your dough is chilling, you can either be really lazy and watch “Hell’s Kitchen”, or you can get started on your icing.  I did both!  The icing is just a combination of powdered sugar, milk, and vanilla.  I decided to add a pinch of cinnamon as well.

ImageWhen your dough is done chilling, spread a thin layer of maple syrup all over it and sprinkle on the brown sugar and cinnamon.

ImageMmmmmm…

ImageRoll it up into a tight log and wrap it in plastic.  Stick this in the freezer until it’s firm.  This will make the dough easier to cut and give the layers a chance to stick to one another. Make sure you have a sharp knife for slicing!

ImageThen you just slice it up, place all the dough on a parchment lined cookie sheet, and stick it in the oven at 350F for eight minutes.

 

ImageTake them out of the oven, allow them to cool, and drizzle on that yummy icing.  I made a sort of piping bag by scooping the icing into a sandwich bag and snipping of a tiny bit of the corner.

Enjoy!

 

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cinnamon Roll Cookies

  1. Gma says:

    looks amazing… wish T had felt up to it yesterday….I could of had one with my coffee 🙂

  2. Pingback: Blueberry Scones | My Gas Stove

Leave a Reply

