Fresh Chorizo Tacos

ImageGrowing up, instead of ripping out the pages of magazines with movie stars on them saying, “I want to look just like her!”, or even, “Someday, I will be Mrs. Justin Timberlake/Johnny Depp/Michael Vartan/etc.”, I tore out pages of recipes.  I wanted to cook everything!  I would sit and watch Food Network instead of cartoons.  By the time I finished high school, I had enough tiny burns from cooking that I couldn’t remember where most of them came from.

When I started college, I didn’t have immediate access to a kitchen that was filled with groceries that I didn’t have to pay for.  I settled for dorm food and ramen noodles, but I kept recipes tucked away in a box, ready for the day I got my own apartment.  Even when that finally happened, my kitchen was SO SMALL and I was SO BROKE that I mostly experimented with eggs and rice.

About two years ago, I came across a spread for tacos in Bon Appétit.  Everything looked so delicious and fresh that I couldn’t resist tearing out the pages to tuck away in my stack of recipes.  I finally had the opportunity last night to cook one of these creations, chorizo from scratch, and some of the toppings from the article.

This isn’t your average taco, you know, beef cooked up with a packet of taco seasoning stuffed into a cold tortilla with cheese.  Tacos like this take your taste buds on a magic carpet ride.

ImageThese are quick-pickled red onions.  If you plan on this being one of your toppings, either get it going as soon as you get started, or make it the day before.  Start by slicing up an onion as thinly as you possibly can.  In a medium sized bowl, mix one cup of apple cider vinegar, two cups of water, two tablespoons of sugar, and about a tablespoon of salt.  Mix it all together until the sugar and salt dissolve, pour over the onions, and stick that in the fridge for about an hour.

I doubled my recipe because I had a pretty big onion, so you can always just cut the recipe in half.  My onion was so strong that I had to rinse out my eyes three times while I was slicing it and Jerad’s eyes were burning from across the apartment.

ImageStart by toasting your New Mexico chiles in a dry, cast-iron skillet for about a minute until fragrant.

ImageDiscard the stems, but keep the seeds!  Do this on a flat surface because the seeds will try to go everywhere.

ImageUsing kitchen scissors, cut the peppers into rings and cover with about half of a cup of hot water.  Let them soak for about ten minutes.  You want them to be nice and bendy.

I recommend working on some of your condiments at this point!

ImageAfter ten minutes, pour the peppers with the soaking liquid into your blender.  Add your paprika, garlic, salt, and black pepper and pulse until it forms a paste.

ImageMix it into the ground pork.  This part smelled so good!

ImageThen throw it in the pan over medium-high heat!  I left mine in large hunks to brown before breaking it up like this.

ImageNext time I will make my own tortillas, but this time I went with a pretty decent brand from the store.  I love a warm tortilla, so I warmed mine up with just a touch of oil until brown spots started to form on each side.

Funny story, I got all of the ingredients for these tacos and I was so excited to make them. The moment we got home, I realized I forgot to buy tortillas.  Back to the store!

ImageThe article called for queso fresco, but I couldn’t find it anywhere.  So, I went with manchego.  I can’t wait to sprinkle some of this onto corn on the cob!

ImageHere are my taco goodies! Guacamole, pickled red onions, chopped cilantro, manchego, lime wedges, and not pictured, red cabbage.  I was so excited about the onions that I almost forgot about the cabbage!  It definitely added a nice crunch.

ImageThen you just fill your tortillas with your favorite goodies and eat!

The link below contains all the recipes from this post, plus more! There are a couple of salsa recipes, as well as other options for fillings, such as shrimp in adobo, cumin and ancho chicken, and rajas poblanos.  Can you say…yum?

Tacos! Tacos! Tacos!

I hope you love tacos as much as I do.  These were fantastic!

Stay tuned for cinnamon roll cookies.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fresh Chorizo Tacos

  1. Laurel says:

    Hi Sarah…the recipe sounds wonderful! Will you be going to Boston Restaurants and reviewing them?
    Laurel

    • mygasstove says:

      Definitely! I work downtown so I have a couple of restaurants to review there. I’m saving them for the days I don’t end up cooking. Glad you enjoyed the post!

Leave a Reply

