Easy Roasted Red Pepper Pasta

So I was surfing the net (okay, okay I was on The Pioneer Woman again…), and I came across this red pepper pasta recipe that I had seen a few times.  I decided that with all the space I have in my new kitchen, and having the use of a food processor, that it was time to make this yummy looking dish.

ImageDoesn’t that look delicious?  I also made a huge mess that I have to clean up this morning.

Whoops.

ImageMy little friends: roasted red peppers, pasta of your choice, parmesan cheese, heavy cream, parsley, salt and pepper, onion, garlic, and of course, butter.

ImageThis is my pasta pot.  I love my pasta pot.  After a few years of eyeing it at my grandma’s house, she finally let me have it.  It’s great because the lid locks into the pot and has some holes in the rim so you don’t need to deal with colanders.  And it’s prettyyyy.

ImageChop up half an onion, a few cloves of garlic, and a jar of drained roasted red peppers.

Quick tip!  This jar was near impossible to open.  After my boyfriend and I both were suffering from some pretty bad jar-hand, I read that if you tap the base of a butter knife against the edge of the lid (so where the lid bends down) all the way around that it will come loose.  It worked like magic!

ImageAdd a couple of table spoons of butter to your skillet over medium-high heat.  Throw in your onions and garlic and cook them for just a few minutes until they start to soften.  Then add the peppers and heat it all up.

ImagePut all those goodies in your food processor or blender.  Get it all nice and…blendy?  You just want a consistent texture.  

ImagePut some more butter in the pan and add the puree.  Stir it all around!

Another quick note.  In most cases, if you are using your food processor correctly, the core with the blade should just plop down into place.  This also means it should slide out of place with ease.  Don’t be like me and accidentally dump your blade into your sauce. Take the blade out first!

ImageFrom there, you add your heavy cream, salt and pepper to taste, and some chopped parsley.  I didn’t add as much cream as the recipe called for.  I get scared of it.  I will be using the rest of my heavy cream for a later post, so keep reading!

ImageFinally, parmesan cheese.  Doesn’t that orange goodness look delicious?

ImageAfter all that, you just add the pasta to the pan on low heat and stir it all around.  Make sure all of the noodles are coated.  As you can see, I made enough to put some away for lunch for a couple of days.

Here is the link to the recipe: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2013/05/quick-and-easy-roasted-red-pepper-pasta/

Enjoy!

Coming up, cinnamon-plum crêpes!

 

 

 

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easy Roasted Red Pepper Pasta

  1. Pingback: WEEKLY MENU & SHOPPING LIST – WEEK 29-2013 | Dinner-Pal

  2. Pingback: Cinnamon-Plum Compound Butter | My Gas Stove

Leave a Reply

