Banana Ice “Cream”

There are no words to express just how much I love ice cream.

During high school, there was a period of time where I was crazy busy and the ice cream shop across the street had decent prices, so that was lunch.  Even having it on a sometimes daily basis didn’t stray me from my love for the dreamy treat.

I only slowed down when I got to college and my ice cream addiction started adding to my waistline, as well as all of the other college garbage I was scarfing down.  Some ice creams also give me tummy aches.  Not fun.

I was more than delighted when Pinterest told me I could make “ice cream” with only frozen bananas.  I tried it a couple of times and it tasted really good!  But, my blender was so crappy that it would take way to long to break up the frozen chunks, so I gave up on it for a while.

Now that I have the counter space, I finally broke out the food processor my grandma gave me…oh, you know…a year ago?  It was still in the box.  MAGIC.

Here’s how you do it:

Image

Slice up a few bananas and freeze them.  It would have been much easier if I had lined a cookie sheet with some foil or parchment paper and laid the slices out in an even layer.  This method involved hacking away at a block of banana with a butter knife to break it up, resulting in some broken tupperware.

Don’t be like me.

Image

Toss them into the food processor like so.  I added a TINY bit of water, just to loosen things up.  Pulse until you get a thick and creamy consistency.

Image

TA-DAAAAA.  It took me a little while to get to this point, only because I had never used a food processor before and it was so loud!

Image

It is so good.  No added sugar, no added things-we-cannot-pronounce, no added anything!

Next time I make this, I will definitely make sure to have some chocolate shell on hand.  I’ve done this with a spoon of peanut butter before and that was also delicious.  Plus you get the added boost of protein!

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Banana Ice “Cream”

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Banana Pops, with Sprinkles! | My Gas Stove

Leave a Reply

