Restaurant Review: The Fat Cat

Since this blog is all things in the life of a foodie, I’ve decided to add some restaurant reviews!  Generally these will be first impressions as I explore all there is to eat in Quincy (south of Boston).  But, I might occasionally sneak some of my favorites (or least favorites) in there on days I don’t end up cooking anything.

Let’s face it.  I’m a twenty-something year old in a new city trying to make my way into the real world.  Those days are bound to happen.

Image

Sorry about the crappy iPhone photo.  I thought it might be a bit much to pull out my camera in a very dark and very crowded restaurant to take a picture of my food.

Le boyfriend and I split an appetizer and an entree.  We got the lobster/crab nachos and the chicken mac n’ cheese.  Let me start by saying that these were delicious and HUMONGOUS (cue guilty jumping jacks, crunches, etc…).  Seriously, I don’t think I’ve ever received a more intimidating plate of food.  So, for the price, you get tons of good eats.  Mac for breakfast? Yep.

The nachos were tasty, and it’s always fun to get something with lobster in it when the price is right, but I wish all the goodies had been on top.  We had to hunt for the hunks of lobster and the crab was pretty mixed with the melted cheese, meaning I had to hope that if I got a chip that had a bunch of cheese on it that there was some crab hiding in there.  My final issue with the “goodies” was that they promised me corn salsa!  I love that stuff, so I was a little disappointed when I couldn’t find it.

Overall, if I had closed my eyes and stuffed my face with those nachos, I would have been in heaven.

The chicken mac n’ cheese was crazy good!  I think they put our plates under a broiler type thing before they came out because there was a lovely layer of cheese encasing our plates.  I don’t know what they did with the chicken but, oh boy, it was scrumptious.  It’s always nice to get chicken that has a sort of crust on it.  It really adds something to the flavor of a dish.

My ONLY complaint about the mac is that I prefer a creamier sauce.  I like when the sauce really clings to the pasta.  This one had a sauce that was slightly thin for my taste, so it tended to slide off.  Perhaps they rinse their pasta?

I was happy with the service.  I think our server could have given us a little more TLC, but it was super packed.  I wonder what it’s like in there when there isn’t construction going on outside.  We even waited half an hour for a table because we read such rave reviews about this place.

I haven’t come up with a rating system yet for these reviews, but I would give them a double high five, and I will definitely eat here again.  I want to try the tuna steak!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

