Back to Basics: Blueberry Pancakes

I think it’s safe to say that I have never met a person who doesn’t like pancakes.

Up until the last week, I’ve been living in an apartment with a kitchen the size of a shoebox.  So, I didn’t make a lot of pancakes from scratch.  While I was visiting home, I decided to try the Martha Stuart recipe for pancakes.  I was surprised that the results weren’t so great.

I remembered this morning that I had always used the Betty Crocker pancake recipe when I made them as a kid.  I used to double the recipe and make so many pancakes that we had to freeze the leftovers, or put them in a plastic baggie in the fridge where my family could reach in and grab one to eat as a snack.  Cold.

They were that good.

I went back to basics on these blueberry pancakes.  I used the Betty Crocker recipe with fresh blueberries.  Yum!

Image

The good stuff: flour, sugar, blueberries, vegetable oil, salt, baking powder, and an egg.

Image

Let’s take a moment to admire my ancient mixer.  That lovely green color.  The shape that resembles an iron.  The shiny metal.  Ain’t she a beauty?

My grandparents gave this to me when I was in need of a mixer to make baked lemon pudding a couple of years ago.  It’s definitely come in handy.

Image

First, whip up your egg so it’s nice and fluffy.  You don’t need to form stiff peaks but it should have a thicker consistency, kinda like pudding?  This will make the batter puff up when it hits the hot pan.

Image

Add a cup of flour…

Image

Then 3/4 cup milk.  I eyeballed mine, and you can add a little more or less depending on how thick you like your batter.

Image

Finally you’ll add three teaspoons of baking soda, one tablespoon of sugar, two tablespoons of vegetable oil, and a dash of salt.

I also like to sneak a little bit of vanilla in there.  For fun!

Image

Mix it all together, but don’t overmix!

Image

Fold in a couple handfulls of blueberries and the batter is ready.

Image

Turn the heat up to medium-high and rub your pan down with some butter.  When the pan is nice and hot you can get started.

Mmmmm, buttuh…

Image

The final result!  Delicious, fluffy pancakes that you can drizzle (drown) with syrup.

I’ve been known to put all kinds of fun things in my pancakes.  My absolute favorite thing is making corn pancakes.  You just make the batter as usual but drain off a can of corn and mix it in.

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to Basics: Blueberry Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Corn Pancakes, my favorite! | My Gas Stove

Leave a Reply

