Avocado Fries

Image

I’m pretty sure avocados are one of those foods that we all think we hate when we are kids.  But then, we discover guacamole and we can’t get enough of that fresh, bright green mush.  When I found out guacamole was made of this creamy fruit, I realized what I had been missing out on.  Now I spread it on toast.  I add it to salsa.  I even spread it on toast, as is.  I hope you enjoy these avocado fries as much as I did!

Image

The players: flour, seasoned breadcrumbs, eggs, and avocados.

Most people use panko breadcrumbs for their avocado fries and they buy them unseasoned.  I didn’t have those on hand so I used regular seasoned breadcrumbs, but you can make them how you like them!

Image

I challenge you to make these fries without eating a single slice of avocado.

I lost.

Image

Add some salt and pepper.  After that, you just flour them, dip them in the eggs, and coat them in breadcrumbs.  This was a really messy process for me, and I didn’t want to add my camera to the recipe.

ImageBam!  Magic.  Put these in the oven at 425 degrees for about 15-20 minutes.  My oven is gas powered and this was perfect for me.

ImageThe final product!  All I can say is…yummmmmm.  Crispy on the outside, creamy on the inside.  The breading forms a sort of “skin” that holds in all the warm goodness.  I highly recommend making this, especially if you have some avocados you have to use up and you are in the mood for something other than guacamole.

What do you like to do with your must-use-today avocados?

Avocado Fries:

  • 2 cups seasoned breadcrumbs (depending on how much you get on your hands, keep it close by)
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 avocados
  • salt and pepper (and other seasonings you like)

Enjoy!

About mygasstove

Hello! My name is Sarah. I'm a violinist and I love everything to do with food. Follow me on my cooking and eating adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

